Hanami is coming!!! 

So here in Japan as the snow is melting the people are getting ready for Cherry Blossom season! And it’s way more intense than I thought it would be. 

So I know that Hanami(花見)is a huge Japanese cultural event. Hanami means “flower viewing” and it started back in the Nara period around 710-784. And since the cherry blossoms only bloom for about 2 weeks you have to really appreciate them while they are here. 

And you can tell how much the Japanese people love cherry blossoms because if you watch  anime there are cherry blossoms of some kind usually during really dramatic scenes or openings but living here now I really understand.  

Every restaurant, cafe, and konbini I have seen is starting to come out with a “Sakura” line of food and drinks. And I even went to the 100 yen store yesterday and they have Sakura cups and table decorations! It’s everywhere you go! 

So yesterday my friend and I went to Starbucks and tried their new Sakura drinks. 


I got the Sakura Blossom Cream Latte and my friend got the Sakura Blossom Cream Frappuccino. And the toppings are shaved chocolate to look like flower petals and crunchy bits that are made from mochi rice ! The Latte had such a subtle sweet cherry flavor and it was so yummy. 


I also treated myself and bought a cup from the Sakura Starbucks line. It was so pretty I saw it and couldn’t let it go. 

With the way cherry blossom season is starting off I’m sure I’ll have more Sakura adventures to post when they actually start blooming in late March! 

Jaaaaa~~~

Leave a Reply

